Anything Goes



The fourth annual Alvarez Chamber Orchestra International Composition Competition - 2012

The Alvarez Chamber Orchestra is delighted to award the £1000
First Prize to Portuguese composer
João Pedro Oliveira for Timshel.
Japanese composer Sumio Kobayashi is the first recipient of the £500 Mullord Award for Poem.


For the fourth consecutive year, the ACO was able to award a prize of Sibelius 7 Software generously donated by Avid.


This year's recipient

is British composer Tom Coult

for Solvitrambulando.


In addition to these prize-winning works,
four were selected for an honourable mention:
le immagini nascoste - Massimo Lauricella: Italy
Soundless Cry - Seungeun Lee: South Korea
Time Tracks - Mei-Fang Lin: Taiwan
linea de vacio - Abel Paul: Spain


Composers were invited to compose a work for chamber orchestra with no specifications as to duration or subject matter - the only limitations being the closing date of January 15th, 2013 and  the instrumentation which was limited to works of a chamber orchestra size with common doublings as specified in the competition regulations. No restriction was placed on age, nationality and style. 
This year the adjudicators had to assess a large number of entries of all ages from around 25 different countries such as Japan, India, Russia, the Dominican Republic and America. Many of the works submitted were of very high quality and individuality; the ACO would like to congratulate all participants for their contribution in making this event such a resounding international success.

Due to the large number of entries, there were two rounds to the competition, invigilated by the ACO competition administrator and treasurer Trevor Huntley, company secretary Phillip Costen and Audrey Ellison - Ellison & Strømsholm International Artists' Management.

The adjudicators were Edwin Roxburgh, Giles Swayne and Simon Campion chaired by Geoffrey Alvarez.

If you wish to support the work of the Alvarez Chamber Orchestra,
including a future concert season featuring music by composers
selected from this and previous ACO competitions, you may send donations via paypal:
2009 Plucked from Nowhere: new music for harp
2010  Freestyle
2011 Going for a Song: new vocal music
Details of the next competition available by clicking here.


The Álvarez Chamber Orchestra is a  Registered Charity No. 1120668 

and a Company Limited by Guarantee No. 6227728.

Registered in England and Wales.

Registered Office: 5 Rensburg Road London E17 7HL



Accountants: Findlay Wetherfield Scott & Co. Ltd.

Solicitor: Peter Korn of Interchange Legal Advisory Service

Trustees: Dr. Timothy Brailsford, Phillip Costen, Trevor Huntley